Susan i Oslo

By susanioslo

Rainy day in the woods....

Like a good Norwegian...(I have lived here 13 years now...but am still quite American) I went for a good hike today - Sondagstur - The Sunday hike - is an important part of Norwegian culture. A good person goes for walks in the woods - especially on Sundays :)

I laugh at this a bit - but love it as well. The hiking right outside of Oslo - right from my home...is amazing considering the city is also right here. Oslo has done a great job protecting the forest surrounding the city. And scattered throughout the forest are cabins where you can buy coffee, hot chocolate, cakes, sandwiches or waffles - Such a great combo - a long hike in the woods with coffee and cake. Probably one of my favourite things about Norway.

Today a friend and I hiked for a few hours - in to Skjenningstua, for those who know the area - and had our coffee and blueberry muffin. The cabin was packed with wet hikers :) The walk felt great and the first half was beautiful - very very green and the autumn colours were wonderful. The last hour and half was VERY wet :) We got soaked! And it was too wet to take out my camera.....

Im disapointed in the photo I ended up with here - its fine but it doesnt capture the colours and "autumn-ness" feel of the woods today. Oh well :)

I have FINALLY caught up all my backblips - I had forgotten that I still had some from my bike ride this summer and a couple for the first week of school. Nice to be caught up!

I hope you are all having a lovely weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.