carolinebeveridge

By beveridge

Figs

I think autumn has arrived in my neck of the woods and after a rain filled week I am dismayed that my figs are not going to ripen this year and now both the figs and leaves are falling off the tree - last year I had lovely big juicy ones although most were too high and the birds had a feast but these are small and stayed green. Although I'm guessing that is more due to the long hard winter rather than now, here's hoping this coming one will be mild. My grapes have now all turned black but the excessive rain has meant that many of them have turned mouldy, next spring I will prune hard and hopefully if I look after them I will get a crop to be proud of, ditto to the fig tree as it is a tad too big for a small garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.