Barking

By Barking

That reminds me ...

When I was 18, I got my A-Level results. I sat French, German and Religious Studies (I wanted to do English but school persuaded me that RS was the way to go.)

I was top of the school in French and everyone had high hopes for my grades (including me).

I was shocked and upset to discover that I had only gained a C in French and a D and E in German and RS respectively. I took myself off to a quiet space and cried until I didn't have any tears left.

Meanwhile, my long-suffering parents were worried sick about me doing something silly.

When I got home, just before dark, my Dad presented me with a dozen yellow roses and this seal (Felix). He told me he was so proud of me and what I had achieved. He hugged me and made it all feel better. Ma also hugged me and told me that it wasn't the end of the world. My big sister, R, rang my University of choice the very next day and managed to get me a place on the course I wanted, even thought my grades were a disappointment.

Everyone rallied around to help me out.

No-one asks me what I got in my A-Levels anymore and I have taught several students French who have got into Oxford and Cambridge Universities since.

It's family love, acceptance and support that keep us all going at times. I miss them every day and it's good to remember that time with a smile. All thanks to them.

Thank you guys.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Something else that made me smile today was Jaxter's Portrait

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.