Dance Among the Stars

By stardancer

Organic Produce Shopping Spree!

Today, we stumbled upon an entire fair of fresh, local produce! Oh my! After, we were in a bit of sticker shock, realizing how quickly our money came and went, but at least we have some tasty goodies for it.

I'm excited about the honey--it's from blackberry flowers and you certainly can taste it. He also had several other flavours that I tried, including fire weed, which had an exotic taste to it. That said, I have been obsessed with honey and lemon tea and have been going through a lot of honey lately and this honey was very pricey, so I will likely have to use it sparingly and get some regular honey at the grocery store later on.

Did you know that some eggs in the super market can be up to even six months old!? Ew! Comparatively, the eggs we purchased here were a little more than the usual in cost, but were less than a week old.

Some of the asters (I think?) and gourds in the picture are ours, but the dahlias came from the market. They are lovely, airy sorts of pinks and oranges. I almost wanted to give them to someone as a gift, but I decided that I really haven't spent much of my birthday money on gifts for myself (other than paying bills), so I did give myself some flowers! I love fresh flowers and maybe one day I will be a rich, old lady and have a giant green house that I can take fresh flowers from all year.

We purchased some beans and some cherry tomatoes, which have a lovely taste to them. There was also another pumpkin to add to our collection, which I hope to carve! Goodness, how many pumpkins are we going to have by Halloween?

Mom also got a cabbage, because she thought it was pretty--so I am not sure that we will actually eat it, ha ha ha! There is some rye flour, too. The man at that stand was really nice--he seemed very passionate about his product and had milled the flour himself and his toddler was helping him make change--cute!

Ah, but we were looking forward to one of the last few Farmer's Markets this weekend (somehow, we had trouble making it out to nearly any all summer) and a craft fair, though we already have all these treasures to eat up and enjoy! Oh my! Well, I guess we can browse, if nothing else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.