Appreciation

By Appreciation

Vintage or Not?

I hadn't planned a garden theme for the first entries to my journal - but who can resist the beauty of a newly blossomed dalhia. All show and no cares.

I remember a time, probably in the 80s, when I thought flowers like dahlias and roses were not for me, but now I appreciate more of the beauty the plant holds.

Today I spent a very disappointing day shopping. Ya Boo sucks.

Last night I was excited at the prospect of some nice new snuggly down winter woolies and a wrap up warm coat. In reality I walked round the shops wondering did I ever wear these fashions first time around in the 80s?

Certainly, I remember my 'Starsky' style cardigan and I know I loved tie neck blouses. Is that why they make me look and feel so odd - because I remember wearing them before and can't believe my daughter now wants to wear them?

I have been known to catch up with fashion several months later when my mind has settled to the look, so perhaps today was just a blip.

My auntie knitted so many of my 80's jumpers and cardigans. They were so beautiful, she had a real talent for knitting, as well as many other things. Why did no-one tell me to keep hold of them? I'm hoarding prime pieces from my daughter's wardrobe, just in case.

Thank goodness for another sunny day when the old woolies and coat are able to rest a while longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.