Rab

By Rab

the times they are a-changin'

So the sun sets on another day, this time over Dubronik, Croatia. Times and the days are difficult right now, in fact the past year has been one of the most difficult of my life. Hopefully though, by the end of the year things will have become a whole lot clearer, and as my 35th birthday fast approaches, they really need to be.
Now the easy thing in life would be to simply accept who we have become and carry on with life in the same vain. Not accepting responsibility for anyone or anything, and just floating through life. Never truly achieving what it is we want to achieve, never truly getting what it is we want out of life. These are the easy options. These are the options I do not choose.
I am choosing the difficult route. I am choosing a real life. I had been happy drifting through life for a long time, but over the last year or so, i have learned many things about myself. I am very far from flawless and I have let the person I know I am, disappear inside myself for far to long. I think we all know who we are deep down and we can lie and pretend to others about the truth of who we are, but in the end you can never lie to yourself. Ultimately we have to answer to ourselves. Recognizing the fact that we have to change is difficult, but the hardest thing of all is making the commitment to execute these changes. I have slowly, and gradually been working on the necessary changes that need to be made in my life. I am very lucky to have someone in my life who is able to help guide me, and point out my flaws. Someone who has had the patience and strength to stick by me and make me realise that first and foremost I have to do this for myself. I have to believe in myself before others will truly believe in me. I can honestly say, it has been too long since i have been truly happy, and too long since i have truly been myself. So in the words of my favourite songwriter 'the times they are a-changin'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.