Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Southbound train

I gave New York a fair chance but I had to follow my gut in the end. As much as I wanted to believe, it is not for me, at least not yet.

Having gotten a glimpse into the media and documentary film world and met so many interesting people this trip has given me much food for thought. I'm leaving with a more realistic idea of what could be and if that is the right path for me. If so it will take some more time and real opportunity to develop. Even good ideas can't grow without nourishment. All in good time, but I won't hold my breathe in the meantime. There are so many other things for me to do.

Saying farewell to Sharon and Jon, and Robert Chang and Kingsley the cats I lugged my bags through the subways to Penn Station for a southbound train. Without anywhere else to go I'm coming home to Virginia. My steady home base in between my own dreams of a home one day. It will have to wait a little longer as I figure some things out. In the meanwhile I'm excited to be back for the fall in Virginia. It has been five or six years since I have been here for it and there is nothing more beautiful than the brush stroke of autumn over the Shenandoah.

Leaving the city looking out the train window galloping down the eastern seaboard I was surprised to feel a great unburdening, a lightening on my shoulders and mind. I hadn't realized how much I was fighting to convince myself to be there until I felt the relief of leaving. Free again, on my way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.