Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Pullin' Away

Late this afternoon, Mr. Fun wandered into the room where I was to ask for my camera and claimed he was going to get my blip for me. I was just busy enough that I did not follow him. I knew he was up to no good or doing something funny, but I was distracted and in a zone of my own.

Later when the sky started its twilight blush, I found the camera, reached for the door knob, and walked into the evening to aim and shot. The pink and magenta flirted with me for a brief moment, then vanished. Before it did, I had captured it.

After dinner I nonchalantly began the downloading of the camera not thinking much about whose hands had held the little picture taking device today. When the image of Mr. Fun's car hitched to a monster 5th-wheel camper tumbled onto my computer screen, I lost all composure, all seriousness was gone. He loves hearing me laugh outloud, especially when he's instigated the laughter. He makes others laugh all the time. I'm so used to his craziness that I don't laugh every time.

Our friends, Bob & Lynda, the ones who own the cool car, also own this lovely traveling machine. They needed a place to park it for a few days and we offered them a curb in our neighborhood. They have a monster truck that pulls this monster trailer. I'm sure they'll laugh too when they see this ridiculous image.

"Pullin' Away" has always been one of Mr. Fun's favorite Kingston Trio songs. He started singing it to me the moment he saw today's photo appear.

This evening the two of us are imagining that we're pullin' away. So if you see anything on the highway that resembles our photo, you'll know who it is.

Good night from "Fun"ville in Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I wish I could link to the tune, but I'm having no success finding it. If you really have to hear it, I'll send you Mr. Fun and he'll sing it for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.