Plugging Away

By plugg

Durham Festival of Silliness

Forgive me if I'm missing the point, but is it actually necessary to dress up in a silly outfit and sit on a silly chair in order to be story teller? I am not sure that it adds anything to the experience for the children. Having read more than a few books to young kids, myself, I think that the important thing is firstly to choose a good book, and then to read it, share it, bring it alive if you can.. but a wacky outfit just distracts and detracts from the book you are sharing.

Well, that's what I think, anyway.

Durham had a Science Festival and a Literature Book Festival going on together. This lady was in a corner of a big tent, surrounded by mad scientists, who didn't need to dress up to prove anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.