carolinebeveridge

By beveridge

Money Old or New??

Walking past Heals on the way to the British Library this morning I spied some old fashioned tills on display so I just had to go in and blip them didn't I? Although I think the assistants thought I was up to no good - this wasn't my first choice as I was going to post the close up but in the end I decided the ornate design on this one warranted a look too. Obviously I was born when old money was legal tender in the UK but I don't remember much about it but I do know it was 12d = 1 shilling - I'm glad now its in multiples of 10 rather than 10 as its a tad easier to count; although I'm guessing my the numbers on this till there must have been a changeover period where both were used? Off to watch X-Factor and cut through the HUGE pile of ironing which is massive as we had no washing machine for a few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.