catch me i'm falling

By makeupyourmind

day fifty three.

today was my first collegiate tae kwon do tournament, this is a photo of my first collegiate tae kwon do match.
i got clobbered. over and over again. at first it was difficult, getting beat down is never easy but i couldn't have gone on without my team. my amazing coach (who took home a gold himself) helped me improve each and every match.

everything came down to the final match. in sparring you need to win two out of three matches on three versus three, broken up into weight classes. our lightweight won, our middle didnt. i'm the heavyweight. i realized how much pressure i was under and basically cracked. but everyone helped me get through it. i fought the first 1 minute round and by the end of it i was ahead by a point. i dont exactly remember what happened but i heard i got a headshot :P (3 pts!) but alas, i couldn't keep it up and ended up losing. i thought my team would possibly hate me, but they welcomed me with open arms and a giant hug. i had no idea what was going on but it hit me later. i'm so thankful for all the support in this family i've found. its what i've been searching for.


today we took home gold in men's a-team, silver in womens b-team, third and fourth in men's cteam and a bunch of individual medals! i'm so proud of everyone :)

GO BLUE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.