Just Simply Loving!

By nursingchronicl




Can't believe its November already! Spring is saying goodbye and Summer is about to conquer my neck of the woods! Then comes Christmas. How time flies!

I've stayed most of the day at home sorting out clean laundered clothes and bulk cooking for the week. Meanwhile, Melbourne Cup commences and everyone's pimped up for the occasion: the ladies, with their unique fascinators while the gents in their smart suits and "funny" hats!

In the last decade, the Melbourne Cup has become a rich man's race. Eight of the last 10 Melbourne Cup winners have been owned by members or former members of an Australian or overseas rich list. The race has recently been dominated by wealthy entrepreneurs with a passion for racing is not that surprising. Finding the sort of horse that can win a Melbourne Cup requires patience and in the racing game, patience requires deep pockets.

Most Australians are putting millions of dollars to the bet. I honestly feel it's a waste of money, really. I don't do betting but if I do, I know where I'll be putting mine. Instead of placing a bet on a horse, I'm going to give it to a charity that rescues ex-racehorses from slaughter houses. It may not give me a financial return but I'll feel much better about it!

On the one thought, here's a clip about the history of "fascinators" in Australia. It can get pretty ridiculous but that 'makes' Australia pretty unique in its own way.

*it's the cast iron railing of the daybed. Try LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.