Alan Taylor

By alantaylor

Carradice Super C

For several years I've been cycling to work with a Karrimor Rush Air 20 rucksack but in a bid to eliminate the resulting sweaty back and shoulders I investigated my options for carrying luggage on the bike.

The obvious choice is to fit a rear rack and use a trunk bag or panniers but my frame doesn't have rack mounts and I wanted to go for a lighter weight option. The Carradice Super C Saddle Pack is what I eventually chose as it doesn't require any additional hardware to fit to the bike and it's a decent shape that doesn't stick out sideways excessively. It has an 8 litre capacity which is just enough for:
- Clothing and a towel
- Lunch
- Altura Pocket Rocket rain jacket
- Mini tool, chain tool, tyre lever and house/office keys in the side zipped pocket
- Inner tube and mini pump in the other side mesh pocket

I keep shoes and washing stuff at the office so I can get away with the small capacity of this bag. Unfortunately I can't fit the camera in so I put it in a waterproof stuff sack and bungee corded it to the top of the bag where it thankfully remained for the duration of the journey.

Carradice of Nelson are known for their traditional saddle packs made from tough materials with leather straps that wouldn't look out of place on a vintage bicycle but the Super C Saddle Pack is one of their (slightly) more modern designs, still made from a tough fabric that'll hopefully ensure it lasts a long time, and the orange reflective strip is a nice touch.

So far (2 days in) I'm really pleased with this setup and can't see me going back to carrying my gear in a rucksack again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.