Not David Bailey

By emma

I went to the Tyneside Cinema yesterday. I love the Tyneside Cinema. The seats in the "Roxy", where they were showing "Africa United", are big and comfy and the room is small, cosy and intimate.

They have special events such as free viewings of older films in the bar, live broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera House in New York, viewings of old newsreels...they even have a knitting club in the bar on Tuesday evenings (although I may give that one a miss).

One of my favourite offerings at the cinema is the popcorn - rather than the bogstandard sweet or salted, the choice was either garlic and herb, or sweet cinnamon spice. I plumped for the savoury, and it didn't disappoint.

I'm looking forward to Christmas time, when I'm going to get myself a large hot chocolate, a comfy seat, and a packet of tissues, and wallow in their special screening of "It's a Wonderful Life".

Oh, and Africa United was fantastic by the way. Very funny and sad at the same time, beautiful scenery, and I shed more than a few tears. Well recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.