Road Trip!

After a late night of babysitting and a midnight-purchase of TT tickets for Munich next July (YAY!) and a morning in work, the journey from Warsaw to Strbske Pleso in Slovakia was long and relentless. Uneventful it was not though. A coffee stop on the Katowice - Krakow leg of the journey saw us drive into a petrol station which had just turned into something out of the movies.

The conversation as we pulled up was:

Me: (spotting some police in the distance) 'Oooh, men in uniform...'
Jean: 'OMG, they're armed... reverse!'


(Then a few seconds to comprehend the scene: the place was crawling with balaclava'd, armed police pointing their guns into a halted 4wd, with the passenger window smashed in (shot at perhaps?), but the petrol station and cafe were still open with people going about what they were there for)

Jean: 'We need to get the hell out of here'
Me: 'Nah, look, it's fine (thinking blip potential) - let's go in. Besides, I'm dying for the loo!'


Of course it wasn't appropriate to get the camera out, because I probably wouldn't be here telling you the story! But I did feel a bit scared as I helped myself at the coffee machine with two of them stood behind me. <excited shudder>.

So, if I hadn't been soooo dog-tired when I arrived at the hotel, after the eight-hour journey, I would have jumped straight into this!

Instead we retired to the bar and its roaring log fire for a couple of G&Ts, before bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.