Helter-skelter

By Juli

What I've learned from Lego.

Made by my 7-year-old daughter, this seemed to perfectly sum up a typical evening in our house.

Being Armistice Day, though, what started out as a jokey take on married life made me feel ashamed of how little I contribute to the world at the moment, as I plod along with my cosy, humdrum existence, reaping the benefits of others' efforts. Today we remember the great sacrifices military personnel made, and are still making, on our behalf - and so we should. It's not about condoning war, but about honouring those who gave their lives in the pursuit of peace. There are no doubt better ways to pursue it than fighting, but I don't have the solution - wish I did.

Then it occurred to me that there's a whole other 'army' out there, not risking their lives but certainly braving near-hurricane conditions today to make my life easier. My bin is emptied, post pops through the door, the supermarket shelves are full and electricity company workers are at this very moment struggling to restore power to thousands of homes in a nearby town.

I, for one, am very grateful for my mundane, safe little life - maybe it's time to do something more, though. And all because of a bit of Lego.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.