B&W #10: Develop good working habits

"Often the best opportunities for a good photograph occur unexpectedly and disappear again without warning.
...
To make the most of these moments, using your camera should become instinctive --
a subconscious method of working that will allow you to concentrate on your subject and not trip up on your equipment.
"
-Michael Milton

Mr. Milton shares his workflow as the following: a) look for a viewpoint; b) decide what filter to use, if any; c) meter and compose; d) check that the aperture and shutter speed is the best combination; e) consider if the composition can be improved; f) focus; and g) wait for the best moment to press the shutter.

Yesterday, I attempted to accomplish this task of creative and organized anticipation by looking for a good vantage point in a relatively safe place. I got a couple of shots with good light and shadow from there but I wasn?t satisfied with them. My impatience coupled with self-consciousness (I was by a highway?s side) made me move on in search for other possible scenes/subjects.

Today, I resolved to be more patient and to have more guts. I went to a more populated and might I say notorious area in the hope of getting more interesting possibilities for a photograph.

What you are seeing above is my best effort to overcome self limits.

*Larger view here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.