This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

This must be the place

Honestly, it's not that I've run out of things to say, or that Chile and the world no longer amaze me. I just find myself living a wonderfully mundane life here in Santiago. And I don't mean that to be a negative thing. BsAs felt like a 6-week tourist attraction. Rather, it's more like real life here. I feel more comfortable, more settled you could say, which probably has something to do with all the college applications I'm doing this month. They remind me of what I currently am. I'm a student, working apprehensively towards something. My host mom calls me hijita, and my walk to the metro stop is dotted with familiar faces by now. It is mundane but it is not boring. Even though we visit spots like tourists, I don't feel like one. Any Chilean could enjoy the photography exhibit at the cultural center, or the spectacular view from atop the hill on which the Santa Lucia castle is perched. My friend James doesn't really have a host dad, he has a Chilean roommate who likes to meet new people and jam on his keyboard and guitars. So we hang out at their place, or at the free internet cafe/library in the park, with the rest of the Chilean university students. We just sort of settled right in. I went on a run to get to my yoga class and took the metro back. It just is and I'm just me, and that's fine.
But I'm not gonna lie. I may not be wishing my time in Chile away, but I'm undeniably Cali-sick. December 5th is not a looming date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.