Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Walking the Dog

Birthday gift!

When we first saw this newest piece of Scott Moore's art this past summer at the Laguna Beach Art Festival, we both looked at each and couldn't decide whether to laugh or to cry.

Scott has titled this piece "Walking the Dog." We have purchased art from him several times over the past 15 years and never really thought we'd buy another because our walls are full. Then we saw this one. After losing our beloved "Bob dog" this past June, we knew we wanted to buy one of the prints of "Walking the Dog" when Scott made it available.

Several weeks ago the email came from Scott that the prints were now ready to be purchased. He had a limited edition of 500. I replied to the email and said that we definitely wanted one and then I asked if there was any chance of getting number 17 or 117 or 217 or 317. His quick response let me know that #17 was available and he'd hold it for us.

Then I emailed to ask if he'd pen some special text along with the title of the piece. I ask if he'd write "In loving memory of 'Walking the Dog' -- the one and only Bob dog" -- his return email stated that he'd be pleased to do that. I don't think it is visible on the photo, but that's exactly what Scott wrote at the bottom of the print.

So yesterday after breakfast at Crystal Cove, we stopped by Scott's home to take delivery of my birthday gift. We love Scott's surreal art and this one is beautiful in the frame that we had asked Scott to include. Reading the special title caused me to blink back tears.

While standing there in the front room of Scott's lovely home discussing his art, I asked nonchalantly if he had plans for next summer's special release and he said, "Come on downstairs to my studio and let me show you what I've been working on." Mr. Fun was so delighted and he had said before we got to Scott's house that he hoped Scott would take us down to his studio. We had been in his studio years ago when we took delivery of the first print we had purchased. I never thought we'd get to visit his studio again yesterday.

Scott is internationally known and has won numerous awards. I encourage you to visit his website, where you will see several of his paintings and can read his bio and numerous other things. Scott's birthday was just a month ago and we were both born the same year! I thought that was cool.

Well, it's late. I arrived home from the campus close to 5:00 p.m. and asked Mr. Fun if we could begin the "birthday feasting" tonight by going out for dinner. He was an immediate "yes!"

Tomorrow is really my birthday and the celebrating and feasting will continue for as long as I can stretch it. I love the 17th of every month, but the month of November is the best. Last year it got even better when Deb's granddaughter was born on my birthday. Wow!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.