SAH on Blipfoto

By sahfotoblip

Cornwall I feel for you after today

This is a picture of a picture I took in June 2007 this is near my Mums house! My mum was one of the flooded mass in Yorkshire on the 25th of June. In the space of a month they were flooded down her street 13 times with it breaching houses on the 15th & 25th of June. My mum only got 'hit' inside once unlike several down the street but the devastation was unreal. It took 14 months and a lot of heart ache to get her and my step dad back into the house and for the house to become the much loved home again that it had been before this happening.

My thoughts and sympathies are with everyone who has been affected by the floods in Cornwall today, you are going to go through a tough time, I can't deny that but through adversity there will be positives, communities will rally and become stronger and as in the case of my Mum strong friendships will be made. Mums next door but one neighbours are now their best friends because of this devastation, they walked it together and celebrated together when they finally walked back through the doors to their homes. The friendship born out of adversity will never be broken and has has given both couples a new lease of life.

Take care of yourselves and don't be afraid to fight your corner with those insurance bods!! I hope you can return to your homes soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.