as far as cho-fu-sa

By emilymariko

Today we went to Auschwitz. It was the most real and surreal day of my life. I don't even know what to think of it. It was just so intense. I only took six photos while I was there and they were all outside. I couldn't bring myself to take pictures inside anywhere. This is what is left of most of the barracks at Birkenau. Each of those is a chimney, that was once one barrack. There was so much area covered by this it was unfathomable even though I was there. It was just impossible to comprehend how many people had been through I could see how many barracks there were, know how many people fit in a barrack and know that not many of them were there for very long. After getting back into Krakow we went to this four story mall. Being in the mall made me feel the closest to the states I've felt since being here. It was weird going from feeling so far away from home and familiarity and comfort to feeling so close to home. It was just a very weird day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.