Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Garmerwolde church tower

After yesterday's last minute blip I didn't want to run into the same problem today. I took my camera to work... and took zero shots. Nothing. Just too busy and I forgot I had a lunch meeting too, so no lunch walk either.

Not that the weather would allow a nice lunch walk. It was a very grey day again with lots of rain. By the time I got home I still hadn't taken a single picture. I took some snapshots of our girls eating the popsicles they made themselves, but I didn't consider them to be blip material. Not after yesterday's quick blip, anyway.

Oh, did I mention it was raining? Well, it still was when the girls were in bed. I checked the radar images to see if there would be a period without rain. It looked like it just might, so out I went. I had noticed the medieval church and tower in Garmerwolde is nicely lit at night so that's where I went.

And the rain was pouring down when I drove there. And still when I arrived. I checked the radar images again on my iPhone. Why was it raining? The radar said it wasn't. I was about to leave the scene when the rain stopped. About 10 minutes and 10 frozen fingers later I returned to my car with this shot and a few others.

So here it is, the medieval church tower of Garmerwolde! I blipped the church itself on May 20. I did some research* back then and found out that the church and tower were built somewhere between 1275 and 1300. The tower contains a bell that was made in 1604 and the mechanical clockwork dates back to the beginning of the 17th Century. A very old building, brought to you with the help of modern technology!

* A bit of a fancy name for googling the building...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.