Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Old, newer, new

When the owners put a brand new, wooden door on the old building to the right, a few years ago, I expected that a full scale restoration would follow. Although I did find it a bit strange to start with the doors and shutters (there is another new door and some new shutters in the adjoining wall). The woodwork was never weatherproofed, no other work was ever carried out and the building has remain closed up and to all appearances, abandoned for the last 6 or 7 years.

Next door, however, the renovation happened relatively quickly (by Symi standards) and if memory serves me correctly, was completed and given it's final coat of fresh paint about 18 months ago. I love the contrast between the 2 buildings and wonder what will happen to the older one.


Yesterday, I mentioned that I had no idea why the house had 420 printed on it and said that it was a mystery I would probably never solve. Well, I spoke too soon. A friend of mine who viewed the Blip sent me this message today on Facebook:
'The house no. originates in the registration of all Symi properties that was done after the war. This was part of an attempt to find the rightfull owners.
The work was done twice for good measure hence some houses have two painted numbers on or over the doors...'

So, now I know (thanks again Ola) and must go in search of some new Symi mysteries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.