Paul's Imagination.

By paulransom

DETAIL

It's extremely rare for me to be happy with a project when I'm at the end of it. But, for the first time in a while, I saved the final document, looked back at it, and had a smile on my face. Quite nice after a 17-hour working day.

This 17-hour working day did include a delightful 3-hour break for my flat Christmas meal though, which was spectacularly brilliant. Was knackered and slightly moody at the start of it, having already been working for 9 hours, but 10 minutes in and I was high-spirited again, and by then end I was gutted I had to get back to work.

----

The piece is basically a 4-part typeface which instead of having bold, semi-bold, regular, light etc, has 4 stages of detail. The idea behind this is based on knowledge, and how the more you understand, the more information you have, the more you learn from the world around you, the easier things become to understand. Each letter is individually pieced together from shapes cut out of an encyclopedia, and then photographed before taking it apart and building the next letter.

Actually a highly enjoyable project looking back on it!

----

Anyway, I gotta be up in 4 hours to put together a short presentation on my typeface, so sleep for me.

Something good: CHRISTMAS MEAL. So yummmmmmmmmmyyy
Something new: Don't have a 20 minute nap at 1am... unsurprisingly you don't feel like continuing with work once getting into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.