The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

Flicker

Like these candles, we are slowly dying
We're together for only this short time, so let's make it amazing
Let's burn brightly

You didn't say much tonight. I didn't say anything.
But there was so much that I wanted to say to you.

I wish I didn't have to wait for a straight answer from you. I wish you'd just give me a yes or no.
I wish you and I were closer. And I know that we're drifting.
But darling, I love you. And Not in that sappy storybook romance way.
I love mostly everything about you, even though I have the tendency to tease.
I love the friend you are and the person you've become.
I love being your friend. Period.
And although I sometimes selfishly wish that isn't all we're going to be, I am happy just being with you.
Because you may not realize it, but I trust you more than I do anyone else.
And you're the only one I can open up to.
So just know that although I'm not a sobbing mess on the floor, I still care.
I care about you.
Never forget that.
That I'm here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.