a rich image

By richardhaas

Surreal Traffic

It was about 5:30 PM and I'd only taken one picture today (not suitable for Blipping). Where is Bannan when you need him?   I jumped into my car and decided to take the 10 minute ride into Wilmington to take some pictures on Front Street.  There was still some light.

I came to a sign saying the Memorial Bridge was closed.  I didn't choose to believe it, and.... it was. A tremendous traffic jam developed while the "bridge was up", and I waited there for about 25 minutes.  On my CD player, Mose Allison was singing "I'm Getting' There".   So I opened the moonroof and balanced my camera and took a few shots, and as soon as I got over the bridge, I turned around and returned home.  It was cold with record low temps expected.

I opened the images in Aperture, selected this one, messed with it a bit, and here it is, the best I could do on this cold night in the Cape Fear region of North Carolina.

Bigger Traffic Jam

I'm Gettin' There

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.