1 Kiwi's occasional blips

By bcaway

leni

Lenticular clouds have special meaning for me, as they remind me of epic soaring days when I have been lifted so high so fast (up to 35,000 feet over the Sierras) and 25,000 feet over Mt Cook where I could see both sides of the south island.
Man has yearned to fly like a bird for thousands of years and only in the last century we have been able too, I feel so privileged to be alive in this modern age where I can fly like an eagle using nothing but the power of nature.

I recall one time I was unable to stay under the restricted airspace due to the strength of the wave lift. With full dive brakes out I was still going up at 1000 ft//min and had to call the controllers to explain I was unable to comply for a few minutes.

Large Version HERE

and a wide angle view a little later HERE (you can notice how fast the lenis change, the one on the right was pictured above only 15 minutes earlier)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.