Brighton sunrise

I had a lovely night out last night with colleagues from my first proper job, which was based in Brighton. A lot of the folk are still based there and most are now freelance. There were a few people who I hadn't seen for several years and everyone was in great form.

Due to the uncertainty of trains and weather, I stayed overnight and was free to wander the Brighton seafront at sunrise. There had been a hard frost overnight and the promenade was icy. All the pebbles in the beach were frozen solid and it was odd not to have them move under my boots. I stood and watched the gulls swoop for shellfish before dropping the shells onto the stones to break them. When my fingers went numb with cold, I turned to the Laines and walked by the shops on the way to the station.

En route home, the snow started falling heavily at Gatwick and there's about half an inch at home, which is nothing to worry about. Now, the sun has come out to play and the snowy tint to the buildings and gardens look bright and pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.