Grounded

By grounded

Indescribable Gift

Today started early so I could lead the 9.30am service at Newbury Baptist Church. At the start of the service when I was lighting the 4 Advent candles, one of them was messing with me and not lighting. Just as I was about to tell the congregation to imagine that the fourth one as lit, it decided to play the game and relief as it lit! Now when you wonder if anything will go wrong when you lead, it's not the part where you simply light four candles!!!! Or is that fork handles????

Anyway we had a lovely afternoon with my step-son and girlfriend who drove up from Poole to visit. Probably the last time in a while I will see them as they head out to Dubai to live in Jan. So we went for a roast dinner in the pub!

The late afternoon was spent practicing for the evening service. We had a nice full church for our Carol service, and I blipped close in here part of the massive pile of cookies wrapped up and tagged for folks to take as they left. A reminder of the fact that the birth of Christ is a gift from God.... and also a reminder of the services folks can come to next weekend!

I thought these little girts were a great idea of a friend and hope to do something on this theme and perhaps go out into pubs or something around Easter and do something similar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.