The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Moments before sunrise

There have been lots of wonderful blips today of the lunar eclipse. Somehow, I was completely unaware of it until I listened to the news this morning, by which time the moon had disappeared behind a cloud.

Oh well, there was the most fantastic sunrise. This was taken just before the sun peeked over the horizon. Shortly before, as I arrived at my favourite sunrise spot, the sky was full of molten lava, see link.

Yesterday I said I would probably return to the Arctic estuary scene. I took a lot of photos of it, but the blip consultant preferred this one of the ash tree silhouetted against the coloured sky. So maybe tomorrow. The pack ice is building hour by hour, helped by biggish spring tides pushing up the ice and beaching it all over the mudflats.

Temperatures here last night went down to -12 C, and it was still -6 when this was taken.

The winter solstice, and the nights are getting shorter again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.