Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Back from the mountain snow

I hadn't meant to work most of today, but my Aperture decided to have a breakdown and I spent the day trying to rebuild my database, checking my Vaults, eventually deciding I'd try again after Christmas. Meanwhile I had a session to edit so had to work around that to create these Christmas portraits in Santa Monica by the beach. The portraits were particularly poignant for this family so we managed to squeeze the session in yesterday. I know my forte isn't groups and indoors but I'm very pleased with the mood conveyed. The mum always asks me to "fix" her in their photos, thus the editing approach I took. Tonight I should close my Mac for good and try to finish cleaning and tidying the house for Christmas.

Meanwhile, with Reuben resting today at home with a bit of a fever spike, Absolute Radio playing out again all day, Callum was busily riding a sled in the extraordinary mountain snow with Jason. We'll try again tomorrow. I don't recall Callum ever having looked so happy with himself than when he emerged from the car this afternoon, his little snow boots and ski jacket keeping him toasty warm. From the video clips, above the clouds looks astonishingly beautiful and hard to believe it's just two hours away from home. Here Callum sits on the rocker I found by a dumpster and couldn't resist bringing home last week. Given I've been on my computer for so long today, eventually being able to process and edit the session, I give Callum to you SOOC, au natural, as nature intended. I like the image because in this transitional light, the colours are very true which I love in portraiture. I'm against cutting off limbs in shots, but as said, it's SOOC and that means I can't do anything to it.

In case I don't get to Blip tomorrow...

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU ALL!!! It's a wonderful time of year.

PS I wonder if I can drag this treasure of a rocker up to the mountains for some pics...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.