Tuscany

By Amalarian

ROMAN VASE OR JUG -- Artefact Series No. 2

First, Merry Christmas and glad tidings to all who celebrate the day.

Christmas celebrates the birth of Christ, of course. This little jug predates that birth by several hundred years. It is small, 8.5 cms high by 21 cms in circumference, or 3 inches by 8 inches. In spite of its great age it is worth very little in monetary terms. This surprised me, but apparently there is a great abundance of Roman pottery about.

The bits and pieces of Roman pottery found in a box were collected by a Victorian cousin -- his, not hers -- who made a trip to Tuscany in the mid-1800s. I wish everything had labels on it as this does. I cannot find a place in Tuscany called Baice, although there quite a few people by that name in Piacenza. There is a crude, bronze ring with a tag that says "found in Piacenza," so I'm making an assumption.

Potters then used pretty much the same methods as potters do today. I am learning more about it as I go.

Late addition: Schlimm pointed out the writing might read Baia and she's right. It is a place near Naples. This cousin did go there, as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.