Gable Erratic

By MsGable

TURDUS ILIACUS

A busy day trying to free up my laptop so that it might work quicker than a snail doing the stations of the cross backwards in a bog.

And blipless and bleeding after several failed experiments, thank you Joe's Blips, this little fellow saved me by flying into the garden, though I had to blip him through double-glazing, and dirty double-glazing at that. But then, as if I hadn't spent enough time on the computer today, I started to wonder about the origins of its scientific name. Google:

Turdus = thrush, ile = flank, acus = needle, pin, hairpin, pipefish, detail, husk, chaff.

So that's the Thrush with Flank Detail then. More commonly known as a Redwing.

So why couldn't it be called a Turdus Rufus Penna?

PS: I did not do Latin at school, though I doubt anyone who's read this far is wondering about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.