Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Foiled!

My plan to get up early and take advantage of the winter sunlight was foiled by the failure of the said "sun" to show up this morning. It was so miserable and dreary all day that I had to resort to my fail-safe, a night shot.
I hatched a cunning plan. I decided that it would be good to pop into the RSPB Belfast Lough nature reserve and use one of the hides which is open 24/7 to get a few pictures of the docks area lit up at night. It's about a half mile walk from the parking in the dark along a muddy wet path. I could hear but not see lots of birds and a few beasties moving about in the undergrowth (!).
Long story short: it was too dark in the hide (and creepy!) to see the controls on the camera and notice that the camera was not, in fact, level. The pictures taken in there were all lopsided.
Thankfully, I walked a bit further along the path past the hide entrance to take a few shots of the Stena boats loading up for their evening sailings! Making Good Time (also ran)

Lessons learned: 1. Pack a torch. 2. Bring waterproofs and/or a comb. (Comb-over wrecked!) LOL

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.