RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Marilyn's Tree

I rarely do photo collages and have never done one on blipfoto before, but this tree has an interesting story (collage suspended by blipfoto early this morning - so this photo is as back blip).

Marilyn is one of my neighbors. She has lived in her house for over 40 years. When she was a young child, her father planted this tree. 3 days later he died. Marilyn lived alone with her mother in the same house and about 5 years ago her mother died. Marilyn and her mother kept special care of this tree for obvious reasons. The last 4 years it has had a variety of infestations and root rot. Today, Marilyn's tree was removed as it became a danger to her house and her neighbors. Apparently, it would have toppled over soon.

Marilyn is a very special person. She was born unable to hear and has been a professional person who retired about the same time her mother died. She is an awesome neighbor and it was my pleasure to document the process for her.

On a side note: An Anna's hummingbird made this tree a perching point to watch over his territory. I have plants that bloom during the winter that he has enjoyed, but keeps them all to himself. He was up on the roof watching the entire process today. Every now and then he would swoop down to take a closer look and go back to the roof. I'm sure he'll find another perch, but it was interesting to observe.

My Tribute to Marilyn and her tree.

Well, I've seen lots of collages on blip before, but when I try my first one it gets suspended...? The collage showed the process which started with this image and completed with the workmen taking down the last rements of the tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.