Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Venice of the East

In the morning sitting there writing at a table on the patio drinking coffee I watched the city wake up while listening to the babble of voices mingling in English and Thai inside and out in a great sensory stew of noises, smells, and scenes.

Come noon I walked across the street to one of the innumerable makeshift food stalls and ate a big heaping bowl of noodles with scallions, chunks of chicken, and bean sprouts in a rich broth. Only 30 bhat, $1. And then I set off on an urban adventure. Hailing a taxi I came to what is lovingly known as the BNK round these parts, a monstrosity of a shopping mall five stories high chocked full of everything you can imagine!

I've come here on the recomendation of friends for a few things I need, namely a new computer battery and cell phone. Check and check. Along the way though I saw a whole other side of Bangkok -- the chick uber modern cosmopolitan side of this designer city. The contrast between the traditional Thais and the city is so radical it makes my head spin. The past and present, tradition and innovation juxtaposed right beside one another.

By the time I found my way out of the maze of shop aisles and elevators to the open street it was rush hour and a hard bargain by taxi back to the place. In the end I found a moto-taxi to take me and it was a wild ride. Dancing and weaving through crazy Bangkok traffic all the way home. White knuckled on the edge.

When he finally dropped me off by the canal by the guesthouse the night market was just getting underway and so a bit woozy and shaky legged from the ride I sat down and do what the Thais do. Ate a snack by the canal. I hear tell Bangkok was once nicknamed the Venice of the East for all of its watery canals by the Chao Praya. Watching occasional boats of goods and people float down slurping up Tom Yam soup I can't help but agree...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.