FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

One Ring...

~~Backblip~~

Another productive day at work today.

This ring has history. You may or may not know that I was once engaged to be married. Well, twice to be accurate, but to the same girl.

First time round, we had the date set, the church & reception booked, rings bought etc. But she got cold feed. The Jewellers wouldn't take the rings back, but did offer an exchange... Neither of us had much of a wish for jewellery after that, but I did think this was kinda cool - it's a replica of 'the one ring' from the Lord of the Rings. This was around the time the movies were being released, so there was a lot of hype. The ring was actually expensive, I seem to remember that Trina gave up her half of the exchange so I could have this.

It's Silver rather than gold (latent homosexual tendencies - silver is the gay gold!). It's a little mis-shapen now, and no longer fits my fingers - almost a decade later they got fatter along with the rest of me! I still think it's kinda cool though, in a geeky kinda way. The idea of suspending it on a chain over a candle is to evoke Frodo's attempts not to wear the malevolent precious. Just wish the focus was sharp - it looked good on the camera screen - problem with backblips is that I had to make do with what I took that day - 4 out of focus pics of that ring. Although it could be motion blur - it was dangling from that chain right enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.