Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

First time SE Asia

Amidst the groans of the iron dock undulating to the river, the yell of the boatmen, hubub of people, wreathing of catfish. The hazy air of mainland Asia, tropical smells of fruit and diesel, and strange sound of a wholly different tongue. The melange of people juxtaposed into one place -- fashionable Thai teenagers and bent old women, young monks in traditional saffron robes and western tourists with dayware and backpacks. All of this is a part of the sensory assault here in Bangkok.

Having spent my first travel experiences in Latin America I remember how fantastic and amazing everything seemed. I can only imagine what must seem like a wonderous world for this young girl. I can't imagine doing a trip like that when I was a kid. Maybe because of that though I got bit by the travel bug so hard when I did get away.

Maybe I'm just always questing after that first feeling of wonder and joy. Like a mirage in the desert that keeps pushing you to go a little farther...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.