Stravaiger

By stravaig

White Smoke

The price of progress (whatever that means) I guess.........

I was visiting one of Scotland's most historic places today. Brilliant weather - a fine sunny day. The views north and west were outstanding. The sun was setting over the Campsie Fells, and snow covered peaks were majestic to the north. Behr (our bernese mountain dog) was causing his usual stir of interest among the visiting tourists. We were enjoying a really nice afternoon.....until I turned to take in the view facing south east.

I hadn't appreciated quite how many industrial sites were discharging smoke - admittedly white smoke - into the air. It certainly took the edge of otherwise fine views and left me with a dilemma as to what photo to blip with as I had a few others in mind. But when I settled down to look at them on the computer, this image of 4 smoke stacks billowing out filtered waste from industrial sites stuck in my mind.

I really do appreciate the need for 'progress' and to create sustainable, worthwhile jobs but (there's always a 'but' isn't there?) I do often wonder if there are credible alternatives to all this smoke. Which all heads east under the prevailing westerly winds and heaven knows where the dust eventually lands.

Rant over. Should probably have posted a less potentially controversial blip but hey ho.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.