John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Unknown territory

Walking back to College last night with Nick and Jack we could have taken a shortcut across the front of this high flat. We didn't. It seemed a reluctance to enter into unknown territory - which is strange.

Being born in a small market town, and being fortunate enough to live in a wide open part of one of the most fortunate cities in the world - for open green areas, running streams and even a mountain thrown in - I have no frame of reference of what it is to live in such close - seemingly packed - proximity to neighbours. It's not enough to say I wouldn't like it - because I have had the freedom to be able to choose.

The only time I have been inside flats like this was in Hong Kong. Manchester in this mode can seem as inaccessible to me at HK. Human community is far short of perfect. How do the bonds of understanding and common purpose develop over such wide chasms of place and environment.

I have no idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.