Year Three

By RobotChicken

Another camera saved

Actually, my parents are moving and aren't so much throwing things out as finding homes for things. A couple of cameras handed to me may have been mine years ago, but I'm not so sure.

This Brilliant could have been mine, but I don't really remember it. If you know your camera history you know this isn't a TLR, but really a box camera with a fancy viewfinder.

The shutter/lens itself suggests that it could have been a premium model. Dated between 1932 and 1937. It's not the Brilliant V6 for instance, and it's definitely metal casing.

All the pictures I can find of the early model have the cheap lens and shutter on them. Well, that's what I'm guessing as the text always reads that they had shutter speeds of 1/25 and 1/50. This has those two plus 1/100. Which would suggest the shutter is a premium model.

Also interesting to note that shutters and lens come from different places. Hence this whole front section for the shutter looking different to most of the other examples on the internet that have been photographed.

I am hoping in the next few days that my old TLR will surface. No idea where from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.