H2 is playing at blipping

By H2

Label #4

I am a friend.

At least I hope I am - lawrie and rancey both said I was scary in the Label #2 blip, so I'm hoping the scariness isn't too all-pervasive or I've got this wrong.

These rather charming little former almshouses always make me think of friendship. Not only are they a symbol of giving (as I think all almshouses are); they are in one of the most desirable parts of York, not tucked away where the housing may have been cheaper, less visible, and therefore the charity less extravagant. I think friendship, among other things, is about giving, and giving of one's best.

Certainly I am blessed by friends who give of their best to me. I hope I can honour their friendship by doing the same.

And let your best be for your friend.
If he must know the ebb of your tide, let him know its flood also.
For what is your friend that you should seek him with hours to kill?
Seek him always with hours to live.
For it is his to fill your need, but not your emptiness.
And in the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures.
For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.


Kahlil Gibran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.