Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

This Rose Won!

The pansies, the carnations, and the nasturtiums lost the race for first appearance in our backyard.

Late this afternoon Mr. Fun phoned home to let me know he was on his way here to get me so together we could write on a birthday card and take it to the post office so our granddaughter Desiree, who lives in Oklahoma, will receive it in time for her birthday which is this Sunday.

Before his call to me, I had been sitting at my computer all afternoon working on school stuff. So I hung-up, looked at Chloe who was asleep on the chair next to me, and told her that we needed to take a quick walk around the backyard. The yard has been roughed-up a little by the winds the past couple days, so I headed toward the fountain side of the yard; it gets the least wind. That's when I spotted this rose bud. I think this is more than a subtle sign that a premature spring has arrived.

I spent the morning at the college getting acquainted with the newest version of the Blackboard or Bb which is the program that hosts all of the school's online classes. The spring semester begins in two weeks on February 14th. I'll spend the next two weeks -- M-Th -- working long days in the college Writing Center (8:00-5:30 with an hour for lunch). So the pace of life here at Fun-ville is about to take on new dimensions. I hope I can locate some energy because the last two days I've hardly had any.

Good night from Southern California where the high was 80 degrees today.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.