A Day Out

With a banana and apple apiece, His Lordship and I drove down the coast to sample the delights of Dunbar.

The last time we ventured there was a few years back on the way home with the bikes on the back of the car after a long cycle run from Berwick -upon -Tweed and round the airts to Lindisfarne and Bamburgh.
Then it had started to rain and we were hungry, so we stopped and bought two fish suppers in the town centre. They were certainly not the best, but hit the spot.

Today however the banana and apple had to suffice until we reached Tyninghame on the way home, for a pot of tea in the lovely little cafe there.
It always looks shut, but we discovered it was busy inside and has a glory hole of affordable gifts in the back room. We came away with a slate to hang on the wall for chalking up shopping lists.

Dunbar was looking magnificent with the red rough sandstone walls of the ruins at the harbour a wonderful contrast to the deep blue of the sky.
How I wish I could use all the blips I got of the harbour paraphenalia in my next few blips, but alas I have to chose just one, and this is it, managing to combine my favourite lobster creels with the red sandstone walls and the view over the water to Tyninghame..... (I think).

His Lordship being a sensitive man found the low sun painful on his eyes while driving, and was glad when it disappeared behind clouds advancing from the South West. However the coastal towns of Fife to the east still shimmered and sparkled so clearly under a duck egg blue sky as we dawdled home.

A good day for me and one that got better for his Lordship with the arrival of the clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.