Never the same

I dug out this watch recently and had its battery replaced.

It never looks the same because of the date "moon" changing as well as the time of course. I've had it for a long time and it's nice to see an old 'friend' again.

When I was younger I used to stay with my Uncle and Aunt in Basel a lot. He was an avid collector of clocks and had about 10 of them, including two grandfather clocks and a few more standing clocks in the living room. In order for them to not ring their different chimes and gongs at the same time they were spaced by about a minute each clock so you needed to know which had the real time to be on time. His GP practice was just downstairs so it wasn't too difficult for him to be on time and I suppose the rest of the family just knew which clock to go by.

All these clocks made the house alive and gave it its heartbeat, so even on your own in the house you wouldn't feel lonely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.