Chiara

By Chiara

The Bird Man

I visited my paternal grandparents today. My grandmother is an (sometimes overly) affectionate woman who loves to cook and my grandfather is a quiet & reserved man who raises canaries and enters them in bird shows.

Up there you can see a small part of his trophy & medal collection. That man has hundreds and hundreds of national championship, first, second & third place medals and trophies all over the house. He has so many that some of them are tucked away in storage. I think it's funny that he's a "celebrity" in the bird show community. Raising canaries is his real passion, and it's always been so apparent that when I was little, a couple of my friends called him The Bird Man. I know that nickname might put him in the crazy-homeless-man-who-feeds-pigeons-all-day-long category, but I must assure you that he is quite normal.

My grandma always, and I mean always, photographs cakes. It's because my uncle owns a bakery and we always get (the most delicious) cakes (ever) there, and I guess my grandma is fond of shoving piles and piles of cake pictures into her friends' faces while bragging about how her son-in-law is a great baker (and a cake decorator, I think). Here she is, taking a picture of my birthday cake.

This is my version of the cake.

This is just a random picture of their napkin holder.

Weather sucks today. I'm saying this because I had to walk in the rain for about 40 minutes. I came home with wet socks and a blistered toe. Yuck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.