Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Low rider

And so it is that once your toddler decides it's time to climb out of the crib, it's time to make the switch to a toddler bed. But what about a toddler who insists on only climbing into his crib? Answers on a postcard please.

Since Callum moved upstairs with Reuben into the new addition, he has loved going to bed. Such an about change that I cannot describe. I guess he'd had just about enough of sleeping beside his Mama.

Hey, thanks so much for yesterday!

Great to be back at UCLA school with Callum today and I brought Reuben along with me to break him in. He was tickled pink to have his name called at circle time as that's only reserved for enrolled kids and I know teacher Belinda did it as a special treat. Nice to be back to the old place Reu? Roll on Monday when you can see your new school friends again and Joseph, about a foot taller than Reuben, who asked his Mama Angela today if he could Skype Reuben.

Meanwhile, and in other news, Callum has discovered that Mama has insanely ticklish feet.

Tonight I'm contemplating Reuben's oral feeding. Whilst he would take a couple of ounces 2 years ago, today it is non existent. Perhaps he'll suck on a cookie and say "mmm" along with Callum and that is touching, but only the taste buds which we believe to be rudimentary, partake.

Tonight I tried again for him to drink from a tiny juice box and I think he achieved in sipping about 5ml through a straw. Over 30 mins. This however is 5ml more than he achieved through a straw a few days ago. It's one area of development for Reuben that I am monumentally behind on. Lapsed. Failed, let me face it. It's recently occurred to me, although I might at times accept the fact that he may choose for the rest of his life to only feed through his "milkie button" tube given his gagging on any oral nutrition, his reflux, his weak oral motor function, and his missing olfactory (smelling) nerve, that perhaps if I can just encourage him to perhaps take his liquid needs by mouth then the hard days of tube feeding him every 2hrs through the day and through the night when there's no night nurse 3 days of the week, might ease up a little. Perhaps to put that regularity into perspective, a newborn needs to feed every 2-3hrs. At times when I'm alone and on nightshift, like tonight, his nutritional needs are sacrificed a little as it's simply not possible for me to feed him through the night at that pace and then get up and be good for the boys come dawn without antagonism, forgetfulness and impatience. So choose to sleep well.

Title by tnahlyn.
BackBlip: London Hotel bar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.