Helter-skelter

By Juli

Going to Nana's house.

Well, we used to go to 'Nana and Grandad's house' but sadly my lovely father-in-law passed away almost three years ago so it's now just Nana's house.

We still visit him, though, as the cemetery is only over the road. I always find that what should be a sad place is instead often bright and colourful and, like the grave we saw today with beer bottles and accompanying funny message placed amongst the flowers, full of interesting sights that merely hint at past lives full of fun and laughter, the details of which we'll frustratingly never know.

This headsone has always intrigued me and, of course, made me laugh. I have no idea who Charlie or Pat are (were?) and the mind boggles as to how Charlie 'went out' but I'd love to know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.