Poppy

By Poppy

Cold!

Yesterday afternoon my nose started to drip - this morning I have a full blown cold! I am dosed up with paracetamol, and am going to light the fire and do nothing! It is cold, grey, wet and windy outside so I'm not missing much.

During the week my mother sent me this balaclava. During the second world war folk were encouraged to knit scarves, gloves, socks etc for members of the armed forces. My grandfather, in the RAF, was issued with this, and when he came home he carried on wearing it, in the garden and when doing his hens.

My mother has decided to pass it on to me, as the most deserving of it in terms of outdoor use! To be honest, I can't imagine for a split second any of my three sisters doing anything other than shudder at the thought of wearing it! It is beautifully knitted and is incredibly warm, but with my nose running like a tap, it's not the sort of thing to be wearing just now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.