Crunchity

By crunchity

The man for serious attitudes

Lunch Calculus

Idea for exam question for a course entitled Logic and Arithmetic for the Everyday:

You are going to Subway to purchase a 6" sub (Tuna) for you and your friend. You have a voucher that offers a free regular sub when you buy a regular 21 oz drink, and a voucher that offers for a foot long for £4.25. Tuna is sub of the day today at £2.35, and although you can't use this deal with the vouchers you have, it does work with the Daily Mail coupon you have offering 10% off (combined total).

Question 1a

If a 6" sub costs £2.79, and a regular 21 oz drink costs £1.49, what is the best of the three offers.

Question b

If you were to order the foot-long and then take a half each, and your friend wants cucumber, peppers, onions, lettuce, olives, and jalapenos, and you want peppers, tomatoes, lettuce, extra cheese, pickles, and cucumber, what toppings will you have to order in total and who has to remove the most toppings before they have the sandwich they want?

Got this email today, which I thought read like a poem (in much the same way as on this Blip entry). I have reformatted it only slightly.

The Man for Serious Attitudes
Anna

Hello my friend!
I write to you the letter,
And I hope to receive the answer from you.
My name is Anna.

I the young woman, average years,
I have brown hair, I the beautiful woman,
And live in Russia.
City Zelenodolsk.

My city is in 920 km from Moscow,
And if you wish to get acquainted with me,
I shall be very happy to answer your letter.
And I would like to tell why I write to you.

The man for serious attitudes and if you are now alone,
You have not the wife or children, I ask you to write to me the letter.
And we could learn better each other,
I have not boyfriend, and I have not children.

To write to you the letter, I have addressed in agency of acquaintances,
And to me give yours e-mail.
It not a spam or other bad things. So, please, answer me,
My letter, this offer to acquaintance and to learn better each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.